City Council

The City of Bayard is a Mayor-Council form of government which consists of one Mayor and four city councilors elected at large.  Each elected official serves a term of four years with elections held on odd numbered years.

Email contact information for the Bayard City Council

John L. Ojinaga          Mayor                                 575-590-1250

Eloy Medina                Mayor Pro-tem                    575-956-3238

Adrian Ortiz                 Councilor                             575-313-1512

Frances Gonzales       Councilor                     575-956-8942

Eloy Gonzales              Councilor  


The Bayard City Council will conduct work sessions at 5:30 p.m. and regular meetings at 6:00 p.m. at the Bayard City Hall, 800 Central Avenue, Bayard, NM 88023

  • Items on the agenda relate to old and new business matters.
  • A copy of the Agenda in its entirety may be obtained at the City Hall Administrative Office during regular business hours by the Friday before the scheduled meeting date.
  • Closed Executive Session will be held pursuant to State Statutes 10-15-1 (H-2 and H-8) NMSA 1978 for limited personnel matters and pending or threatened litigation.
  • Any special meetings will be posted as a separate legal notice.
  • The public is invited to attend.

If you are an individual with a disability who is in need of a reader, amplifier, qualified sign language interpreter, or any other form of auxiliary aid or service to attend or participate in the hearing or meeting, please contact the city clerk at 800 Central Avenue (537-3327) at least one week prior to the meeting or as soon as possible.